

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Folk Music Ontario

Hilton Toronto Airport Hotel & Suites, Toronto, ON Saturday, October 21, 2017 10:30am ET

1. Adoption of the Agenda

The President, Katharine Partridge assumed the chair and the Secretary, Amie Therrien acted as the Secretary of the meeting. The meeting was called to order at 10:40 am ET. Katharine Partridge declared that notice of meeting was sent out in a timely fashion per the organization's bylaws and that quorum was met.

Liz Scott requested that an item be added to introduce the candidates in the board election. It was agreed that this item before New Business.

MOTION: Moved by Alex Sinclair and seconded by Eve Goldberg that the agenda be accepted as amended. **Motion Carried.**

Jani Lauzon read the land acknowledgement. Alex Sinclair read the Folk Music Ontario Equality Statement and James Keelaghan performed an opening song.

2. Approval of 2016 AGM Minutes

Draft minutes of the October 22, 2016 AGM of Folk Music Ontario were distributed online via the Folk Music Ontario website and via paper copy during the meeting.

MOTION: Moved by Preetam Sengupta and seconded by Max Merrifield that the 2016 AGM Minutes be approved. **Motion Carried.**

3. **President's Report**

The President's Report was presented in the printed 2017 conference program distributed to all conference delegates as well as verbally presented by Katharine Partridge.

4. Executive Director's Report

The Executive Director's Report was presented in the printed 2017 conference program distributed to all conference delegates as well as verbally presented by Alka Sharma, FMO Executive Director. The verbal presentation included:

• Thanks to funders and to staff and Copperworks and everyone else who helped with the conference

5. Treasurer's Report and Audited Financial Statements

The Treasurer's Report from Jan Cody reviewed the audited financial statements included in the printed 2017 conference program and sent by earlier email to all members. The verbal report included:

- Had an active fiscal year with a lot of new activities, which is reflected in both expenses and new revenue (mainly from grants)
- FMO's accumulated deficit has decreased from it's original \$104,000 to \$78,000
- Board focus is on revenue generation including membership. New benefits will be offered. In 2017, a webinar was held for members only.
- The Deficit Reduction Plan has three main strategies: to generate new revenue and diversify current revenue streams (2017 new grants, new sponsors); to grow revenue by increasing member value (eg. Webinar); to continue reviewing any and all expenses (a tech audit underway)
- The year end statements are reviewed

Member questions:

Confirmation by the board that the accumulated deficit has dropped overall, though the year did not record a decrease.

The expense of Ottawa's conference was noted. The board and ED confirmed Toronto location is cheaper due to travel savings for participants and the hotel's airport location "Is the board worried about the deficit?" The board spoke of ongoing work and encouraging results. Also, the creation of specific committees and a task force to increase efforts, including value for members.

"While the board cuts administration costs please continue to invest in staff." The board agreed.

MOTION: Moved by Malcolm Byard and seconded by Scott Merrifield that the Audited Financial Statements be accepted. **Motion Carried.**

6. Appointment of Auditors for Fiscal year Ending March 31, 2018

MOTION: Moved by Janice Cody and seconded by Alex Sinclair that David Burke Auditing Firm be appointed as the auditors for fiscal year ending March 31, 2018. **Motion Carried.**

7. Introduction of FMO Board Election Nominees

The eight people running for the board were introduced by Liz Scott as:

- Trish Bolechowsky
- Paul Fortune
- Rosalyn Dennett
- Richard Henderson
- Emma Jane Julien
- James Keelaghan
- Preetam Sengupta
- Alex Sinclair

8. New Business

No new business was raised.

9. Adjournment to Awards Brunch

Katharine Partridge called the meeting adjourned on Oct 21, 2017 @ 11:28 am to be called back to order at the Awards Brunch.

10. Election of Directors

Meeting was called back to order by Katharine Partridge on Oct 22, 2017 @ 10:38 am. Liz Scott announced that the Board members elected by the membership were:

- Alex Sinclair (returning)
- James Keelaghan (returning)
- Preetam Sengupta (returning)
- Rosalyn Dennett

MOTION: Moved by Candace Shaw and seconded by Rachel Barreca that the election results be accepted. **Motion Carried.**

MOTION: Moved by Eve Goldberg and seconded by Danny Sullivan that the ballots be destroyed. **Motion Carried.**

11. Adjournment

Katharine Partridge declared the meeting adjourned on Oct 22, 2017 at 10:44 am. The next regular meeting will be held during the 2018 Annual Conference, held in Mississauga, Ontario from September 27 to 30, 2018.

Amie Therrien, Secretary FOLK MUSIC ONTARIO

Sep 30, 2018 Date of Approval